OpenAI says ChatGPT Ads reached a $1 billion annualized run rate
OpenAI says ChatGPT Ads reached a $1 billion annualized revenue run rate less than 200 days after launch and that self-service buying is opening across India, Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa. The revenue, advertiser, and performance figures are company-reported and were not independently audited.
OpenAI said ChatGPT Ads reached a $1 billion annualized revenue run rate less than 200 days after launch, and that self-service ad buying would open later the same day to advertisers in India, Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa. The company published the milestone on August 31, 2026.
The figure is company-reported. OpenAI did not disclose the revenue period it annualized, release underlying billing records, or publish an audited statement covering the advertising business. An annualized run rate projects a recent period’s revenue across a full year; it is not a measure of revenue actually collected over 12 months.
Self-service buying runs through Ads Manager, the tool OpenAI introduced in beta on May 5, 2026 with signup, payment, budget and bid controls, campaign management, and performance reporting. OpenAI’s Ads Manager availability page listed India along with multiple European, Middle Eastern, and North African countries when it was checked on September 2, 2026. The announcement does not state that every country in those regions has self-service access.
OpenAI said tens of thousands of advertisers use ChatGPT Ads, that the product is sold through managed sales and partners in more than 40 countries, that advertisers outside the United States account for a growing share of revenue, and that small and medium-sized businesses make up a material share of the business. It described advertising as one pillar of a business model that also includes subscriptions, enterprise offerings, and usage-based APIs, alongside OpenAI’s wider ChatGPT product rollout. No opened source independently measures those adoption figures.
For performance, OpenAI cited one ecommerce advertiser reporting a 3x return on ad spend, and a partner report that more than 80% of ad-driven ChatGPT traffic came from new customers. It did not name the advertiser or the partner, or give methodology, baselines, or comparison periods. OpenAI’s own advertiser FAQ says ChatGPT Ads does not yet have performance benchmarks across advertisers, industries, or campaign types. The company also said trust, relevance, and overall-experience measures held up during the rollout, without publishing definitions, baselines, sample sizes, or regional breakdowns.
OpenAI began testing ads in ChatGPT in the United States on February 9, 2026, for logged-in adults on the Free and Go tiers. On August 18 it announced expansion across 31 European markets, initially through managed and partner channels, with self-service planned later in the summer.
OpenAI says ads are labeled, kept separate from answers, do not influence the answers ChatGPT gives, and do not expose private conversations to advertisers. A preprint submitted to arXiv on August 5, 2026 reported observing more than 3,000 ChatGPT ads from 186 unique advertisers in responses to 335 prompts, beginning in February 2026, and found the ads visually separate from response text in its first observed phase; the authors did not test OpenAI’s revenue, advertiser-count, or regional-performance figures.
More news

AWS releases six open-source Hugging Face deployment skills for SageMaker

Google Research releases MilleMiglia logistics benchmark generator

AWS launches AgentCore Runtime V2 with elastic memory and snapshot starts
